Once you have your institution's sites, machines, users and test schedules setup you are ready to start entering data.
To perform QA click on the Total QA Schedules link in the main toolbar at the top of the software.
The Perform QA page will open. You will see QA schedules for which all of the following are true:
- Schedule with machines to which your user account has been assigned.
- Schedules for which your user role has been authorized to conduct.
Schedules that are due or overdue will be displayed with the number of days past the initial due date. You can see all schedules due or overdue by clicking the Due link at the top of the page. Clicking on the Unsigned link displays all schedules that have unsigned reports.
You can collapse or expand the display by site for easier navigation on large accounts.
You can view reports for the displayed schedule by clicking the report icon next to the test.
You can view longitudinal data for the test by clicking the trends icon next to the test.
To enter data click on the schedule. The data entry page for the tests will be displayed.
To see the tests click on the bar or click the test section on the sidebar and expand until you see the tests for which you wish to enter data. The sidebar will also display the current pass-fail status of each section if tolerances have been set.
When entering data you can save the current entries and return later to finish by clicking the Save QA button.
To complete the QA report click the Finalize QA button. No further edits will be allowed after finalizing a QA report. You cannot start a new report for a schedule if any non-finalized report exists.
If schedule Instructions have been set up for the current schedule then a button will appear in the upper right of the page to access web pages or documents set as instructions.
While performing tests if you want to skip all or part of a test deliberately you can click the NA check box for the test. This indicates that the test was deliberately incomplete and it will not be counted as incomplete on the final report.
When the report is finalized a dialog will appear allowing you to add comments and/or attachments to the overall report. If there are any incomplete tests for the report they will be noted in the dialog. Click on the link to expand the list. Click Finalize QA to proceed and Cancel to go back to the form.
The report workflow was revised with release 1.29 (June 23, 2016). Previously reports were associated with a user and a schedule. That is if user 1 started QA on a schedule and saved it and then user 2 logged in and started QA on a schedule a separate report was started. Each user would always be working on their own report. Since only the most recent report was displayed on the review QA page this led to a number of instances where a report was seemingly 'lost'. Furthermore, it complicated matters in that if a user started a report and then left on vacation or other absence their incomplete report could not be picked up by a colleague.
The workflow was revised to allow only one report for a given schedule to be in progress at a time. This change has the following effects:
- If user 1 is actively working on a report (i.e. the report is open in their browser and has the focus) and user 2 attempts to start the same schedule they will be informed that user 1 has the schedule open and in use.
- If user 1 saves the schedule but does not finalize it then when user 2 starts the schedule they will open the report that user 1 has been working on and can enter data into the same report.
- If user 1 loses internet connection they will be logged out of the report after approximately 5 minutes. User 2 can then enter the report. User 2 may have to refresh the page. User 1 will receive an error message informing them that their internet connection has been severed.
- If user 1 is inactive for approximately 10 minutes they may be logged out of the report and user 2 can access.